Stargirl

I am yet to start the 4000 words I have due this weekend but I had to re-read Stargirl! I read it when I was 15 and found enormous comfort in Jerry Spinelli’s words. I owe him much gratitude, his tale of non conformity and first love came to me at the right time. I know it’s cliche to say a book changes ones life but this one did. Reading it today, I now understand the message and love it even more.

Stargirl

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli.

Some of my favourite quotes:

“The earth is speaking to us, but we can’t hear because of all the racket our senses are making. Sometimes we need to erase them, erase our senses. Then – maybe – the earth will touch us. The universe will speak. The stars will whisper.” 

“She was bendable light: she shone around every corner of my day.”

“Heart and head are contrary historians.” 

“I grabbed her, right there outside the lunch room in the swarming mob. I didn’t care if others were watching. In fact, I hoped they were. I grabbed her and squeezed her. I had never been so happy and so proud in my life.” 

“You liked me.”
I smiled. 
“You were smitten with me. You were speechless to behold my beauty. You had never met anyone so fascinating. You thought of me every waking minute. You dreamed about me. You couldn’t stand it. You couldn’t let such wonderfulness out of your sight. You had to follow me.”
I turned to Cinnamon. He licked my nose. “Don’t give yourself so much credit. It was your rat I was after.”
She laughed, and the desert sang.” 

“He’s so cute, I can’t help myself.” 

The echo of her laughter is the second sunrise I awaken to each day, and at night I feel it is more than the stars looking down on me.” 

“It was a rebellion she led, a rebellion for rather than against. For ourselves. For the dormant mud frogs we had been for so long.”

“It (enchantment) started when the earth was born. It never stops. It is, always. It’s just here.” 

Leave a reply :)

