The Monk and the Hangman’s Daughter

First book of the year. First book read for the pleasure of reading too!

TMATHD

The Monk and the Hangman’s Daughter by Ambrose Bierce.

A few of my favourite quotes:

“Although the way was long and perilous, we did not lose our hope, for hope is not only the beginning and the end of religion, but also the strength of youth and support of age.”

“I am young, and although my mind is at peace, I have so little experience of the world and its ways that I feel myself peculiarly liable to error and accessible to sin. The course of my life is like a rivulet which draws its silver thread smoothly and silently through friendly fields and flowery meadows, yet knows that when the storm comes and the rains fall it may become a raging torrent, defiled with earth and whirling away to the sear the wreckage attesting the madness of its passion and power.”

“All life’s tempations and trails seem far away, like the perils of the sea to one who can but faintly hear the distant thunder of the waves upon the beach.”

“I hear the wind among the pines; I hear the water soaring in the deeps; I hear the distant song of the nightingale; but her voice I do not hear.”

“It is an unearthly love – the love of a man for a woman.”

“Ah, Benedicta, Benedicta, what is this that thou hast done to me?”

“As my words echoed from the abyss below and the heights above I felt as if I were being lifted out of this world of suffering and sin and borne away on angel’s wings to the radiant spheres beyond the sky”

Leave a reply :)

